Proect 7 : Exploring different scales

The task for this project was to compose nine pieces for woodwind instruments for nine different scales. The scales I used are always given above the pieces.

  1. Whole-tone scale a

Whole-tone scale a

Bassoon Screenshot

2. Whole tone scale b

Whole-tone scale b

Recorder Screenshot

3. East European Major Scale

East-european major scale

English Horn Screenshot

4.  East European minor scale

East-european minor scale

Alto Saxophone Screenshot

5. Middle Eastern eight-note scale a

Middle Eastern scale a

Oboe Screenshot

6. Middle Eastern eight note scale b

Middle Eastern European Scale B

5 Pan Flute Screenshot.png

7. Nine-note scale a

Nine-note scale a

Clarinet Screenshot

8. Nine-note scale b

Nine-note scale b

Flute Screenshot

9. Chromatic Scale

Chromatic Scale

With this scale I allowed myself to use Arnold Schönbergs “Twelve-tone-technique”, which doesn’t allow a note to be played a second time unless all the other eleven notes have been played before. This technique has a defined row of the given twelve notes. The row can be reversed (called retrograde), played with mirrored intervals (inversion) or both of them combined (retrograde inversion).

This is furthermore a piece, where I chose to use the Clarinet a second time, simply because of its wide range and its ability to swap between fff and ppp very rapidly.

Clarinet in E-flat Screenshot

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s